Election Information

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Election & Voter Information

Corona is a general law city governed by a five-member City Council. Members of the City Council are elected for four year terms by-district following the approval of Measure N by the citizens of the City of Corona on the November 2016 ballot. The five council electoral districts require the election by the residents of each of those districts of one Council Member who also resides in the same district. 

The City Council Members currently in office will continue until the expiration of their terms. During the November of 2018, the voters in District 1, District 4, and District 5 selected their City Council Members by-district. The election for November 2020 voters will select their Council Members for District 2 and District 3. The City Treasurer is elected at large for a four-year term. A municipal election is held on the first Tuesday in November of even-numbered years. Each December, the Council meets and chooses one of its members as Mayor and one as Vice Mayor. The Mayor is the presiding officer of the Council. 

The City Clerk serves as the election officer and is responsible for issuance and acceptance of nomination papers, city measures and the publication of necessary legal notices. In addition, all campaign and conflict of interest filings required by the Fair Political Practices Commission are centralized in the City Clerk's Office.

In order to qualify as a candidate for a member of the City Council, an individual must be a registered voter and a resident of the City of Corona. Nomination petitions must contain the signatures of at least twenty (20) registered voters from the jurisdiction and must be filed with the City Clerk's Office no later than the close of the nomination period. If any incumbent does not file nomination papers within the filing period, the filing period will be extended for an additional five calendar days to allow anyone interested, except the incumbent, to file for that office.

Pursuant to Resolution No. 2003-68, a $25.00 filing fee is required to be paid upon the filing of the nomination papers.

View Corona's Elected Officials

Visit the Mayor & City Council section of this webpage to view Corona's current Elected Officials and to get in touch with Council Members. 

General Municipal Election

The next general municipal election for the City of Corona will be held in November 2020 for two City Council seats (District 2 and 3) and City Treasurer.

For more information regarding the upcoming election in the City of Corona please contact the City Clerk at or call (951) 736-2203. 

Register to Vote

To register to vote for the upcoming election, please contact the Riverside County Registrar of Voters at (951) 486-7200 or (800) 773-86-8683, or register online at or

Ask Ally
Powered by AboutXtreme